top of page
  • Amy Bacon

Editing Tip No.1

I have been very dead on this blog lately... partially because of schoolwork but also because I've been working hard on editing/prepping a longer work for submission (aiming to be done this summer, wish me luck!). That being said, was no one going to tell me how helpful comments on Docs/Word were to the editing process or was I just supposed to find that out myself? Me: finds detail I want to fix that is connected to another detail later in the novella Also me: slaps comment down on both and now it takes me two seconds to reference them


I have no idea if this is something that everyone already knows and I just had to dork through it myself and figure it out, but yeah. comments. Give yourself comments while editing. Mark connected details. If you add a new detail, remind yourself to reference it earlier in the work. Give the work to your beta readers with comments filled with the questions you have about clarity/character development so it's easier for them to provide feedback. I have learned to love me some comments so there's my editing tip for the last *peeks at timestamps on blog posts * uh three months XD


And to everyone reading this, have a wonderful day!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

July is Spoken Word Month

I've also put this on the main page, but I'm presenting in two whole poetry readings in the month of July (as of right now, who knows, I...

Comments


bottom of page